Adobe InDesign – Step by Step Tutorial for Beginners

1. What is Adobe InDesign?

Adobe InDesign is a professional desktop publishing (DTP) software used to design:

  • Books

  • Magazines

  • Newspapers

  • Brochures

  • Flyers

  • Posters

  • ID cards

  • PDFs

👉 It is mainly used for page layout and text design.


2. Starting Adobe InDesign

Steps:

  1. Click Start Menu

  2. Open Adobe InDesign

  3. The Welcome Screen appears

You will see options like:

  • Create New

  • Open

  • Recent Files


3. Creating a New Document

Steps:

  1. Click Create New

  2. Select Print (for books, brochures)

  3. Choose page size:

    • A4 (most common)

  4. Set options:

    • Pages: 1

    • Facing Pages: OFF (for beginners)

    • Margins: 12.7 mm

    • Bleed: Leave blank

  5. Click Create

✅ Your first blank page is ready.


4. Understanding the InDesign Interface

Important Parts:

  • Tools Panel (Left side)

  • Control Panel (Top)

  • Pages Panel (Right side)

  • Properties Panel

  • Workspace Area (Center)


5. Important Tools in InDesign

Common Tools:

Tool NameShortcutUse
Selection ToolVSelect objects
Direct SelectionAEdit points
Type ToolTWrite text
Rectangle ToolMDraw boxes
Line Tool\Draw lines
Zoom ToolZZoom in/out

6. Creating a Text Box

Steps:

  1. Select Type Tool (T)

  2. Click and drag on the page

  3. Start typing text

Example:

Welcome to Adobe InDesign

Formatting Text:

  • Change Font

  • Change Font Size

  • Make Bold / Italic

  • Change Text Color

(All options are in the Control Panel)


7. Creating Shapes

Steps:

  1. Select Rectangle Tool (M)

  2. Draw a box

  3. Choose:

    • Fill Color

    • Stroke Color

    • Stroke Width

👉 Shapes are used for design and background.


8. Adding an Image

Steps:

  1. Click File → Place

  2. Select image

  3. Click Open

  4. Click on the page to place image

Resize Image:

  • Use Selection Tool (V)

  • Hold Shift while resizing


9. Aligning Objects

Steps:

  1. Select object(s)

  2. Open Window → Object & Layout → Align

  3. Choose alignment:

    • Center

    • Left

    • Right


10. Using Pages Panel

Steps:

  1. Open Pages Panel

  2. Click Create New Page

  3. Multiple pages are used for:

    • Books

    • Magazines


11. Saving the File

Steps:

  1. Click File → Save

  2. Select folder

  3. Give file name

  4. Click Save

File extension:

.indd

12. Exporting to PDF

Steps:

  1. Click File → Export

  2. Choose format Adobe PDF (Print)

  3. Click Save

  4. Choose High Quality Print

  5. Click Export


13. Simple Practical Example

Design a Flyer:

  1. Create A4 document

  2. Add title text

  3. Add rectangle background

  4. Insert image

  5. Add contact information

  6. Export as PDF


14. Common Shortcuts

ActionShortcut
SaveCtrl + S
UndoCtrl + Z
Zoom InCtrl + +
Zoom OutCtrl + –
New DocumentCtrl + N

15. Uses of InDesign

  • Magazine design

  • Book layout

  • Certificate design

  • Brochure creation

  • Newspaper layout

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Practical Exercise: Design “News XYZ” Front Page

Practical: Design “HINDUSTAN TIMES” Front Page in Adobe InDesign